Faster: How A Jewish Driver, An American Heiress, And A Legendary Car Beat Hitler’s Best

$25.55

11 in stock

SKU: BK0275 Category:

Description

By Neal Bascomb. This book is a Los Angeles Times Bestseller, Motor Press Guild Best Book of the Year Award, and, Dean Batchelor Award for Excellence in Automotive Journalism.

For fans of The Boys in the Boat and In the Garden of Beasts , a pulse-pounding tale of triumph by an improbable team of upstarts over Hitler’s fearsome Silver Arrows during the golden age of auto racing.

They were the unlikeliest of heroes. Rene Dreyfus, a former top driver on the international racecar circuit, had been banned from the best European teams—and fastest cars—by the mid-1930s because of his Jewish heritage. Charles Weiffenbach, head of the down-on-its-luck automaker Delahaye, was desperately trying to save his company as the world teetered toward the brink. And Lucy Schell, the adventurous daughter of an American multi-millionaire, yearned to reclaim the glory of her rally-driving days.

As Nazi Germany launched its campaign of racial terror and pushed the world toward war, these three misfits banded together to challenge Hitler’s dominance at the apex of motorsport: the Grand Prix. Their quest for redemption culminated in a remarkable race that is still talked about in racing circles to this day—but which, soon after it ended, Hitler attempted to completely erase from history.

Bringing to life this glamorous era and the sport that defined it, Faster chronicles one of the most inspiring, death-defying upsets of all time: a symbolic blow against the Nazis during history’s darkest hour.

Product Details
Year: 2020
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Format: Hardcover, 344 pages
Language: English
ISBN: 9781328489876

Additional information

Weight 1.5 lbs
Dimensions 1.15 × 6.15 × 9.15 in